Research groups

The Novos Medios group was founded in 1999 at the Faculty of Science of the Communication of the University of Santiago de Compostela. Its central line of research was – from the beginning – and still is the impact and relationship of technologies with the changes in the field of communication.

The Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism is dedicated to exploring the future of journalism around the world through debate, engagement and research. Our mission. We believe in the value of independent journalism, the power of news and the importance of an informed public. We are committed to the timeless journalistic aspiration to seek the truth and report it, and to the ongoing work of remaking the profession and the organisations that enable it.

The School of Public Policy (SPP) of the Central European University (CEU) is an English-language postgraduate institution with campuses in Budapest and Vienna. CEU was founded by philanthropist George Soros. It is accredited in the United States and Hungary. SPP offers graduate programmes in public policy tailored to students seeking careers in the public, private and non-profit sectors at the local, national and international levels. There are currently about 140 students from about 60 countries enrolled in SPP.

RIPE NCC (Réseaux IP Européens Network Coordination Centre) is the regional Internet registry (RIR) for Europe, Western Asia and the former USSR. It is based in Amsterdam (The Netherlands) and has a branch office in Dubai (United Arab Emirates).

The RIR oversees the allocation and registration of Internet number resources (IPv4 addresses, IPv6 addresses and autonomous system numbers) in a specific region.

It began its work in the early 1990s, after the start-up of the Faculty of Communication (then the Faculty of Information Sciences) at the University of Seville, and is the first research group in Communication in Andalusia. Directed by Prof.  Manuel Ángel Vázquez Medel, it has played an important role in the promotion of other research groups, and has made outstanding contributions in the Social Sciences and Humanities, such as the development of Transdiscursive Semiotics and the formulation of the Theory of Emplacement/Displacement TE/D.

It seeks to generate a space of convergence around the study of innovation in news in the digital society, systematically and jointly analysing the contributions that technologies, changes in formats, new narratives and current consumption trends generate in a widely changing scenario. It has the scientific experience of 4 leading research groups in this field of research; Gabinete de Comunicación y Educación, of the Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona (UAB), the Grupo I.T.A.C.A (UJI), the Novos Medios research group of the Universidad de Santiago de Compostela (USC) and the Teoría y Tecnología de la Comunicación research group of the Universidad de Sevilla (US).

The Jaume I University (in Valencian and officially Universitat Jaume I) is a public university of higher education and research located in the city of Castellón de la Plana. It was founded in 1991. It is named after King Jaume I the Conqueror.

The International Association of Public Media Researchers (IAPMR) promotes contemporary theory and practical research to clarify, support and facilitate the development of Public Service Broadcasting (PSB) and Public Service Media (PSM) as a vital requirement for safeguarding democratic interests and practices in the 21st Century.

The aim of the RTVE-USC Chair in Public Service Media in Europe is to define the concept of service in European public media.